Fresh Pressed News

Ask the Acupuncturist

http://www.flickr.com/photos/alicepopkorn/3264315530/

Photo credit: Alice Popkorn

Please join us in the round room at HCT on Saturday, March 12th  from 1:00-2:00pm  for a very special presentation on health and well-being from acupuncturist Miriam Cooper. Coffee, tea, questions and answers – who could ask for anything more on a  Saturday afternoon in March?

Miriam is a practitioner of Classical Five Elements Acupuncture who has been teaching and practicing T’ai Chi, acupuncture and related arts for over 20 years.  A former dancer, she discovered these healing arts when an injury threatened to side line her career. The results were so impressive she later began studying both. She currently maintains her private practice in Stone Ridge, NY and teaches T’ai Chi a few doors down from us at Beahive Kingston.

There are numerous schools of acupuncture, all of which take different paths to achieve the same goal.  The Five Elements work Miriam practices is based on how “the ancients observed the fundamental elements: wood, fire, earth, metal and water, participate in life’s mysterious order.  Classical Five Element Acupuncture supports the relationships of the five elements  within us to bring about a balanced and harmonious state. When our energies are balanced we experience health, well-being and the joy of being alive.”

We are very excited that Miriam will be here to speak and answer our questions about acupuncture – it will be an inspiring afternoon and we hope you will join us.

As we do,  we welcome Miriam to HCT  with our own version of the Classical 10 Questions:

What would the title of your biography be?
“You Can’t Make This Stuff Up”.

Who has been the biggest influence in your life? And, how did they inform who you are today?
Aside from my parents, I have studied closely, and at length, with some fantastic teachers. The most influential in my life have been: Sallie Wilson – (Ballerina),  Patrick Watson, (T’ai Chi teacher), JR Worsley, (Acupuncture teacher), Jeffrey Yuen, (Herbs and Taoist teacher), and Bardor Tulku Rinpoche, (Buddhist Master). To parse their influences is a bit like wondering what it would have been like to be born a blond swedish male accountant – when I’m clearly not. (Ok – no one is born an accountant). It wasn’t just what they taught me that has deeply influenced me. It was the way they taught me; with tremendous patience and love.

If you could have been at any one event in history, what would it be?
The meeting with Buddha where he turned the wheel of dharma for the assembly. Although possibly it would have simply gone straight over my head. In which case, it would have been fun to be at the premiere of Le Sacre Du Printemps where there was a Parisian style riot.

What’s your greatest virtue?
A good heart.

What’s your greatest weakness?
Taking things personally.

What’s your earliest memory?
I remember lying in my crib, looking up at the bare light bulb, the door to the hallway, and the rest of my room. My Mom has told me that we moved from that apartment before I was 18 months old.

Who is your real life hero?
One hero is Margaret Craske. She was Meher Baba’s closest Western disciple, and a very bright spark.  She overcame so many hardships during WW II and she taught ballet well into her 90’s. One small incident that sticks in my memory is the time the elevator broke right before morning class. Miss Craske insisted we start class without her while she inched up the stairs. It took her half an hour to make it to the second floor – by which time the elevator was fixed and we had finished the barre. She rode up the rest of the way, limped slowly across the studio to her seat, and gave the rest of the class.  I also have been thinking a lot lately of JR Worsley treating patients from his hospital room during his final illness.  He was able to heal people only a few days before his own death. The strength and brightness of the human spirit is my hero I guess.

What’s you favorite daily ritual?
My husband and I sit down to a cup of tea, scrabble, and  conversation before we start our days.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?
28.

How has your life been different than you imagined it would be when you were a teenager and if so how?
Actually my life is not unlike what I imagined it would be as a teenager – only better. I did forsee that I would work intimately with lots of different people – albeit in theater and dance rather than acupuncture. I had never even heard of acupuncture until I was 21! But I never envisioned myself married or as a mother when I was teenager – both extremely wonderful aspects of my current life for which I am grateful.

Is there any one person throughout history  you would want to have coffee (or tea)  with? Who would that be and what would you both be drinking?
A very close friend passed away nearly 3 years ago. I would love to have tea with her again. She would be drinking an English blend of black tea with milk, – with a Tanqueray Martini on the side. I would be drinking the same black tea, plain –  with cookies.

Special just for you, our dedicated blog readers: Mention our blog when you come to hear Miriam speak for a free cookie to go with your cuppa

Miriam Cooper M.Ac, L.Ac, Dipl.Ac
3631 Main Street, Stone Ridge, NY, 12484
(845) 810-2919

http://bodypillar.com


For information on T’ai Chi classes right here in Uptown Kingston visit Miriam’s  Facebook page

Comments on: "Ask the Acupuncturist" (2)

  1. The neighborhood is full of amazing people! Really enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

